Member News


Share your business or organization's news and successes! Chamber members may submit information to be displayed on the Member News page by emailing

Marion High School students, teachers earn recognition (and cash) from AP program

  • Share:
November 27, 2018
Tackling challenging academic material sometimes pays off in intangible ways, such as improved critical thinking skills and better preparation for college-level workloads. But for several Marion High School students, the reward was literal: a total of $5,900 cash in hand from the AP-TIP IN program was distributed recently.
In addition, MHS science teacher Kristi Phillippe was one of four finalists for the AP Science Teacher of the Year award. She and fellow science teachers Layne Maki and Dave Tippey, along with English teacher Bret Booher and math teacher Angela Sellers, also received bonus awards for reaching goals for the percentage of their Advanced Placement students who took the tests corresponding to their classes, and/or the number of students who passed the tests.
The mission of the Advanced Placement Teacher Investment Program for Indiana (AP-TIP IN) is to improve college and career readiness for students throughout Indiana by engaging them in rigorous math, science, and English coursework. It aims to increase the enrollment in AP classes at participating schools, and to increase the number of students passing the corresponding tests. The program also delivers high-quality professional development to teachers at participating schools.   
AP-TIP IN is administered by the University of Notre Dame's Institute for Educational Initiatives, with support from the National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI), the US Department of Education, the University of Notre Dame, and the Indiana State Department of Education. Marion High School is among the program’s fifth cohort of participating schools.
Marion High School students were awarded earlier this month as follows:
  •          Elizabeth Wuertley, Class of 2018, received $300 for passing three qualifying exams in May 2018
  •          The following students / graduates received $200 for passing two qualifying exams in May 2018:
    •     Gavin Bass, Class of 2018
    •     Hunter Durbin, senior
    •     Drake Gunyon, Class of 2018
    •     Sean Harnett, Class of 2018
    •     Joshua Kelley, Class of 2018
    •     Zoe Orrell, senior
    •     Kaylynn Scher, Class of 2018
    •     Zach Stephens, senior
  •          The following students / graduates received $100 for passing one qualifying exam in May 2018:
    •     James Bell, senior
    •     Trevor Bennet, senior
    •     Saralena Bergsma, junior
    •     Maylen Bowen, junior
    •     Camille Case, junior
    •     Zoe Case, Class of 2018
    •     Kathyrn Erickson, senior
    •     Greer Decker, Class of 2018
    •     Destinee Fannin, senior
    •     Azira Fisher, senior
    •     Eliza Fry, Class of 2018
    •     Jordan Gillespie, Class of 2018
    •     Josiah Hamilton, junior
    •     Joseph Hoffert, senior
    •     Levi Hofmann, junior
    •     Immanuel Israel, senior
    •     Leilanu Jackson, senior
    •     Jozya Johnson, Class of 2018
    •     Emily Lindsay, Class of 2018
    •     Elizabeth Kelsay, Class of 2018
    •     Ayawna Kemp, senior
    •     Cortney Kreischer, senior
    •     Macie McCarthy, Class of 2018
    •     Travis Metzger, senior
    •     Jessica Mooney, Class of 2018
    •     Christian Riggs, Class of 2018
    •     Cristian Ross, senior
    •     Sophie Schenck, senior
    •     Thomas Schenck, Class of 2018
    •     Nenah Seward, senior
    •     Caleb Spitzer, junior
    •     Madeline Stiles, junior
    •     Hailey Teeguarden, senior
    •     Sierra Thornburgh, Class of 2018
    •     Chloe Vermilion, senior
    •     Samuel Vermilion, Class of 2018
    •     Katelyn Wright, junior
Marion High School and Marion Community Schools congratulates these students and teachers on their outstanding work!
Dave Tippey
(765) 664-9051